My Adventures with the Lord Jesus… a summer that I will never forget

“I waited patiently for the Lord’s help; then he listened to me and heard my cry.” Psalm 40:1

It was a summer I will never forget. Like what the Psalm said, at the right time, the Lord will make it happen. I’ve got to be patient. I’ve waited for my water baptism ever since I’m attending Sunday Services of the Christian church, the Jesus’ Young Followers ministry which was established as Gracetoration Christian Fellowship in 2003 in Coron, Palawan (https://www.facebook.com/groups/1513068765526094), came April 14, 2022. My heart’s desire for a water baptism was granted. The day that I’ve been waiting for is finally here. Water Baptism is your first act of obedience after putting your trust in Him. When you are baptized with water, you are obeying the words and commands of Jesus Christ. Water Baptism symbolizes that you are willing to follow Jesus, and have your life match His will for you (Google).

I came to know Jesus in my Lupus journey. As everybody knows, I had a stroke caused by my Lupus. Waking up from my deep sleep to half of my body paralyzed because of a brain stroke, where I had 7 blood clots that made me slow to recover. I was in depression because of what happened to me. My mom talked to a pastor to enlighten me with the Lord’s words and I became close to the Lord Jesus through my friend Delia, one day she introduced Jesus to me. But I already know who is Jesus. She meant to know Jesus in a more intimate way. So the more I became curious about Jesus, & what better way to know Jesus is by reading the bible. I asked my mom to buy me a bible and my friend, Delia taught me to have a daily devotion, that’s how I develop an intimate relationship with Jesus. Since then, I could not get over Jesus. And I knew Him dying for us on the cross of Calvary to think that we are still sinners . He endured persecution and endured lashes by the Roman guards. And then I was complaining because my stroke arm was painful. Comparing it to what Jesus experienced with the pain I had endured, it was nothing.  That’s why I started to endure the aftermath of my stroke. I never felt so alone with my lupus. I believe that no one can ever understand what I am going through. Yes, my family and friends are right beside me, but I was so alone. Then I thought of Jesus. How did he manage to be left alone by the apostles after that incident at Gethsemane? His love for us made Him endure all pains, He was motivated by His great love for us. So it made me think again, I’m not actually alone, His presence comforted me.  My relationship with Jesus started to blossom because of sharing with Him my unforgettable experience with Lupus, especially my stroke. Whenever I feel discouraged, I just think of Him. Like the discouragement of walking again and the experience with my tracheostomy. His grace made me survive it all even the most challenging ones.

After 2 years of waiting, I’ve finally decided to get baptized with Jesus’ Young Followers. My water baptism was held in our front yard, they actually set up a kid’s pool for my water baptism. It was led by Pastor Jefferson James Laxamana and Pastor Marc Anthony Navarro. And my fellow churchmates as witnesses. It was an exciting feeling that day. Now I’m officially a Christian, a Christ-follower!

Right that moment I felt that the Holy Spirit is literally working in me.  My prayers were answered not just because the Lord surprised me with my other heart’s desire to go & visit my father’s province, answered as well. Months before, my sister was planning for us to have a vacation in our father’s province, Urdaneta. At first, I was half excited because of my situation. I mean with my paralyzed half body, I doubt I’m going. But the Lord surprised me by answering my heart’s desire. Because that day of my water baptism, my aunt called & was asking if we have a ride going to Urdaneta. Yes, the Lord’s answers your prayers in the right time, I didn’t even insisted to the Lord about going to Urdaneta, I was just surprised. My brother Gelo, even said yes to my friend/ pastor who heard my mother was having a transportation problem, he offered to take us instead.

I was so amazed by the workings of the Lord. Indeed everything works for good of the who loves Him. As I was preparing for our trip, I just prayed to the Lord that whatever happens His WILL be done. Of we went for our 5 days vacation. I was so overwhelmed. That I could not contain my emotions. I cried for a few minutes while we were enroute to Pangasinan. As I was asking for strength from the Lord and I trust Him to deliver us. I don’t know but I have this feeling that the Lord is asking me to have a need to share the gospel to my family in Pangasinan. And after 3 hours of traveling, we finally arrived at my aunt’s house. With excitement, it’s been 10 years since my last visit. 8 years ago I had my stroke and I never thought that I will ever be back again. My aunt and the rest of my family welcomed us. They welcomed us with a warm hugs and kisses. We had lunch with our Pastors and his family plus 2 more companions. We were all in thanksgiving for the goodness of the Lord. And a short fellowship. So here comes our 2nd day, we had a very restful night and ready for our day, thanking the Lord for sustaining us. On our 3rd day, my sister together with her kids went to San Roque Dam. They had fun while I & Mama was treated by my aunt for a hair color with manicure / pedicure, thank you Lord for letting us especially me experience a salon treatment. You see I haven’t experience salon since my stroke. On the 3rd, thank you Lord for the opportunity to share the gospel with my Aunt, just praying to our Lord that the Holy Spirit will work in her. 4th day of our vacation, the privilege for me to see the beach again after 10 years. I just couldn’t believe that I’m going to set foot on the beach again. We went there around dawn since I’m avoiding the sun. We made fun of my situation, I’m like a vampire that staying long under the sun will trigger my lupus. But by God’s grace, I was fine. And on the 5th day, our last day. Thanking the Lord for the privilege to visit the grave of my Papa, grandpa, grandma and my late uncle Ruding. Our 5 days vacation was like a dream come true, thank you Lord for the unexpected blessings. Thank you Lord for your provisions. And we returned back to Baguio safely. I realized that when you put your total trust in the Lord, He did anwers prayers with the right condition of our heart. 🙏🙌

Leave a comment